${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt} Connecticut Injury and Criminal Defense lawyers
Call us now we can help
(203) 772-3100
Contact Us icon mail

Study shows Connecticut has third strictest DUI laws in nation

Though not covered by federal law, every state has a drinking age of 21, plus their own drunk driving laws. Even so, more than 30 percent of all traffic fatalities involve alcohol. Connecticut has strict statutes against drunk drivers, and a recent study shows that the state has the third strictest laws in the nation.

In addition to the 10,000 lives taken in the nation due to drunk driving, the American economy suffers an annual $60 billion loss due to the action. There is good news, however. The DUI laws have dropped fatalities by 52 percent between 1982 and 2013, the last year the study took into consideration. 

One such law that has come into effect in Connecticut is its new interlock ignition requirement for even first time drunk drivers. The device requires drivers to blow into a tube to determine their blood alcohol level. If it is above 0.025 percent, the engine will not start.

In addition, the study found Connecticut has the toughest maximum jail sentences for first time offenders: 10 days. Drunk drivers can expect to spend at least two days in a cell. The second offense results in a 120 day sentence, and the third offense is a felony. One’s license is suspended for three months, and the DUI remains on their driving record for 10 years.

Drivers who have been a victim of a drunk driving accident may benefit from consulting with a personal injury attorney in order to discuss possible compensation for serious injuries.

 

Source: Patch.com, “Connecticut Third Strictest on DUI Offenses, New Study Shows,” Barbara Heins, July 18, 2015

 

Secondary Source: WalletHub, “Strictest And Most Lenient States On DUI,” Alina Comoreanu, June 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information